2016 Gold Glove Award Winners Announced; Heyward & Rizzo Get the Gold, Russell & Arrieta Fall Short (Video Highlights)

It’s no secret that the Chicago Cubs have one of, if not the, best defensive units in all of baseball. That was made even more clear when the Gold Glove finalists for the 2016 Awards were announced on October 27. Cubs players who made the cut included pitcher Jake Arrieta, first baseman Anthony Rizzo, shortstop Addison Russell and outfielder Jason Heyward. With four players, the Cubs were tied with the Detroit Tigers for most players nominated from the same team.

Both Jason Heyward and Anthony Rizzo walk away tonight with Gold Glove Awards.

For Heyward, it’s his fourth Gold Glove and third straight.

Anthony Rizzo notched his first Gold Glove Award with defensive plays like this one.

The winners were announced tonight, Tuesday, November 8, on ESPN. Here’s the complete list.


NL – Zack Greinke, Diamondbacks

AL – Dallas Keuchel, Astros


NL – Buster Posey, Giants

AL – Salvador Pérez, Royals

First Base:

NL – Anthony Rizzo, Cubs (1st career)

AL – Mitch Moreland, Rangers

Second Base:

NL – Joe Panik, Giants

AL – Ian Kinsler, Tigers

Third Base:

NL – Nolan Arenado, Rockies

AL – Adrian Beltré, Rangers


NL -Brandon Crawford, Giants

AL – Francisco Lindor, Indians

Left Field:

NL – Starling Marte, Pirates

AL – Brett Gardner, Yankees

Center Field:

NL – Ender Inciarte, Braves

AL – Kevin Kiermaier, Rays

Right Field:

NL – Jason Heyward, Cubs (4th in career, 3rd in a row)

AL – Mookie Betts, Red Sox


Back to top button